Baggage

 Again, our programming plays a big part.

To identify too strongly with the body can be really harmful. You can do as many sit-ups as you want, but will your six-pack abs make you a kinder, more compassionate person? Not necessarily. In some cases, striving for physical perfection can have the opposite effect, encouraging rigidity, anxiety, and judgmental tendencies–all of which create barriers rather than tearing them down.

Again, our programming plays a big part. Many women hold a core belief that if they  aren’t beautiful, they aren’t lovable. The media and the beauty industry know this, and take full advantage of our insecurities. Again, I’m not saying that looking good is a bad thing. I love makeup as much as the next girl, and haven’t missed a salon appointment in years. But this body is just a suit my soul is wearing. It changes, ages, and shifts–but nothing that happens to my body can affect the true me unless I allow it. The minute my identification with my body gets in the way of my connection with my highest self, it becomes baggage.

(For More) CHECK OUT MY BOOK @ http://www.RebeccaTripp.com

o-FLIGHT-ATTENDANT-facebook

2 thoughts on “Baggage

Leave a comment